Ig Nobel special ceremony in Genoa

A special Ig Nobel Prize ceremony will be held at the Festival della Scienza, in Genoa, Italy, on Friday night, October 24. It will begin at 9:00 pm, in the Sala del Maggior Consiglio of the Palazzo Ducale.

Two 2008 Ig Nobel Prize-winning teams will receive their Ig Nobel Prizes. (Both teams were unable to travel to the Ig Nobel Ceremony at Harvard.) Marc Abrahams, editor of the Annals of Improbable Research and chief organizer of the Ig Nobel Prizes, will officiate at at special ceremony.

2008 Ig Nobel Nutrition Prize winner Massimiliano Zampini will receive his (and Charles Spence’s) Ig Nobel Prize for their potato-chip-sound-modification work).

2008 Ig Nobel Biology Prize winners Marie-Christine Cadiergues and Christel Joubert will receive their Ig Nobel Prize (for their comparative-flea-jumping work).

2008 Ig Nobel Medicine Prize winner Dan Ariely will explain how he and his team demonstrated that high-priced fake medicine is more effective than low-priced fake medicine. [NOTE: Professor Ariely will also give a longer talk, earlier that evening, in the same room, about the full range of his research into irrational economic behavior.]

2007 Ig Nobel Medicine Prize winners Brian Witcombe and Dan Meyer will then explain and demonstrate their prize-winning study “Swordswallowing and Its Side Effects.”

David Gross, 2004 Nobel Laureate in physics, will be on hand to help honor the Ig Nobel Prize winners.

The photo below shows part of the audience at last year’s Ig Nobel event at the Genoa Science Festival.