Banana skins and rabbit cartilage mucus – with an Ig Nobel connection

Kiyoshi Mabuchi, Kensei Tanaka, Daichi Uchijima and Rina Sakai, were jointly awarded the 2014 Ig Nobel Physics Prize for measuring the amount of friction between a shoe and a banana skin, and between a banana skin and the floor, when a person steps on a banana skin that’s on the floor. REFERENCE: “Frictional Coefficient under […]

Ig Nobel event TONIGHT—Ishikawa Prefectural University

The Ig Nobel Japan Tour has its final event tonight, with an event at Ishikawa Prefectural University on Thursday, September 27. WHERE: Ishikawa Prefectural University, Hokkoku Shimbun Interchange Hall (2-1 Minami-cho, Kanazawa City). WHEN: 17:30 Marc Abrahams and Ig Nobel Prize winners Yukio Hirose, and Hidehiko Kumagai (who is also president of the university) & Shinsuke Imai will discuss the […]

Ig Nobel event—with Two/Too Lectures!—at Hokkaido U

The Ig Nobel Japan Tour continues, with an event at Hokkaido University on Wednesday, September 26. Marc Abrahams and Ig Nobel Prize winners — Prof. Toshiyuki Nakagaki (winner of two Ig Nobel Prizes, for discovering that slime mold can solve puzzles and that slime mold is more efficient than human engineers at designing railway routes), and Prof. Kazunori […]

Ig Nobel events TODAY at Miraikan in Tokyo

The Ig Nobel Japan Tour continues. Today (Sunday, September 23) there will be two events at Miraikan (National Museum of Emerging Science and Innovation). The first, talk and questions and answers with Marc Abrahams, will be at 15:30. The second event will be webcast at 17:30-19:00 (Tokyo time). Marc will participate in other special Ig Nobel activities in Tokyo, Sapporo, […]

The Ig Nobel Japan Tour — September 20-28

Please join us for any or all of the Ig Nobel events in Japan: Ig Nobel Japan Tour September 20, Thursday—Nerd Nite Tokyo, Nagatacho GRID, Tokyo, Japan.— A very jet-lagged Marc Abrahams will discuss the Ig Nobel Prizes. September 21, Friday— Special Pre-Show Press Opening of the Ig Nobel Exhibition—AaMo Gallery at the Tokyo Dome, Tokyo, Japan. —Marc Abrahams and several Ig Nobel Prize […]

Announcing the 2018 Ig Nobel Prizes winners

The 2018 Ig Nobel Prizes were awarded at the 28th First Annual Ig Nobel Prize ceremony, on Thursday, September 13, 2018, at Harvard’s Sanders Theatre. The ceremony was webcast. Here’s video of the entire ceremony, and a list of the winners: [Youtube]GQqZVthHyuA[/youtube] For links to the prize-winning studies, see the list of all past (and new!) Ig […]