The Triumph of Lal Bihari

Lal Bihari has triumphed in India’s parliamentary election.

A we reported recently, the founder and head of the Association of Dead People — and winner of the 2003 Ig Nobel Peace Prize — was standing for elective office. See that report here.

The election results are now in. Lal Bahari did not come in dead last.

He finished next-to-last, with 3400 votes, edging out Dhruv Kant, who garnered only 3053 votes. For the complete list of candidates and their vote totals, see the list here.

(Also: see Lal Bihari’s official election affidavits here.)