HotAIR - IG NOBEL UPDATE -- Kansas Ed Board -- An Ig is Forever


Kansas Ed Board -- An Ig is Forever

Reassuring news for all past Ig winners

by Kemal Rampling, AIR staff

AUGUST 2, 2000 -- We have received a sudden spate of inquires about one team of the 1999 Ig Nobel Prize winners. There is widespread worry that these particular winners -- the Kansas State Board of Education -- will somehow be obligated to return their prizes.

The Ig Nobel Board of Governors, who oversee the Ig Nobel process, has issued a statement addressing the concern. The statement appears below.

First, though, a little background information.

Background: The Kansas Ig Winners

The Kansas Board of Education was awarded the 1999 Ig Nobel Prize for science education, sharing it with the Colorado State Board of Education. Here is the official citation

The Kansas State Board of Education and the Colorado State Board of Education, for mandating that children should not believe in Darwin's theory of evolution any more than they believe in Newton's theory of gravitation, Faraday's and Maxwell's theory of electromagnetism, or Pasteur's theory that germs cause disease.

The News That Some Found Alarming

Yesterday, several of the Kansas Board members were defeated in their first attempt, since winning an Ig Nobel Prize, at re-election. Details are presented in a report from the Associated Press and CNN:

TOPEKA, Kansas (AP) -- Sending a strong signal in the debate over how to teach about the origin of life, voters chose three candidates for the Kansas Board of Education who promised to back science standards with a greater emphasis on evolution. Two incumbents and another candidate who support the state's current standards that play down the importance of evolution were defeated in Republican primaries Tuesday. The lone incumbent survivor, Steve Abrams, helped write the standards. The elections pave the way for a potential reversal of the board's 6-4 vote last year that put the standards in place....

This has triggered widespread concern that the defeated incumbents (and one who chose not to even try for re-election) would not be permitted to keep their status as Ig Nobel Prize winners.

Statement of the Ig Nobel Board of Governors

The public need not be alarmed. Here is the official statement on the matter, issued today by the Ig Nobel Board of Governors:

This is an official statement issued by the Ig Nobel Board of Governors.

Ig Nobel Prize winners all have worked hard to achieve whatever it is they may have achieved. Once they have been awarded their Prizes, they are entitled to keep them. An Ig is forever.

This has been, and remains, an official statement issued by the Ig Nobel Board of Governors.

This is a HotAIR exclusive feature. For a complete list of the others, see What's New.